A Bike Ride

Hey, you don’t have to tell me I’ve dropped the ball the past few weeks. I know I’ve been lazy with my postings, but look, I’ve been busy. I promise it might happen again.

This past Monday was Korean Memorial Day. We had the day off of school, and the weather has been perfect – low 70s, sunny, slight breezes. I took advantage of the weather and the day off by going on a bike ride at Yeouido, the park area next to the Han River. You might remember Yeouido from such adventures as the cherry blossom festival and the trip to the 63 building. Well, it has those things, but most of the time, it’s just a popular park down by the river, and when we went, there must have been a good metric gaggle of people.

We rented bikes from a stand near the subway station and rode all around the park.

There were plenty of bridges to ride under. This one is right near all the action, and the bike path runs right underneath it.

Here’s a good shot of me with windswept hair and Seoul Tower in the background.

There were certainly a lot of good photo opportunities down at Yeouido, and I wish I had more pictures, but unfortunately, my camera…well, let’s not get into that.

Anyway, Yeouido was great. We saw the fishermen along the river manning several sets of rods. We saw masses of people picnicing on the acres of grass. My favorite spot of all though…

…the shallow fountain being enjoyed by just about everyone, and as the day settled into dusk, there were still hordes of people wading through the water or sitting on towels near the edge where the cement met the pool.

The slight darkness in the sky as we left. The breeze. The laughing kids and the napping couples. It was one of those days.

This entry was posted in Tourism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

